Workshop Reviews

We asked a bunch of our previous workshop attendees to tell us what they thought of our programs. General consensus? Their heads were crammed with tonnes of useful stuff, they fell passionately in love with the countries they were in, they made friendships that will last a lifetime, they gained confidence in their writing and pitching abilities and they had a ridiculously good time. Some of them even cried when it was time to leave. True story.

Facebook Reviews

Global Hobo
5.0
Based on 23 reviews
powered by Facebook
Sammy Burgess
Sammy Burgess
2020-08-15T07:38:06+0000
Having completed the Global Hobo Bali trip in 2019, reflecting on it now shows me how it was such a valuable learning experience and a great addition to my resume.As a journalism student myself, I was never taught a lot of what the incredible teachers at Global Hobo taught us. From freelance... writing and sensitivity training to in-depth storytelling techniques, we were given a wide variety of knowledge on how to be a feature/travel writer. I had my first article published by them which I am so thankful for and I also gained a new understanding about how to be a considerate traveller. I hope the program is able to work through Covid-19 because it was such a valuable experience for not only writers but also travellers and modern-day explorers.read more
Tonesi Heyman
Tonesi Heyman
2020-04-17T10:58:09+0000
Took Global Hobo's Tokyo course in June/July of 2018. I had no previous experience in journalism, and I had such an amazing time I decided to kick on and do a Masters in Publishing and Editing.I've just gone through their online Freelance Writing course for a refresher; it's comprehensive and... covers a lot of points that uni doesn't cover -- so, if you're looking to write and get paid without waiting to get to the end of your degree, this online course has all the information you need to get started. Run by a bunch of rad, intelligent humans -- definitely get around this. 10/10 both times.read more
Susi Neumayr
Susi Neumayr
2020-02-26T01:54:45+0000
The most incredible month that I will carry with me forever. I learnt so much, had unforgettable experiences and made forever friends. Since doing the workshop I've been published, which I never could have done without the wisdom from the teachers and the skills I gained along the way. 100%... recommend this to anyone wanting to expand their experience of the world.read more
Jade Newton
Jade Newton
2020-02-16T09:42:19+0000
I was surrounded by people who were passionate about writing. Learnt more then I did at uni. This gives you real world advice, experience and contacts. I loved every second!
Carly Cullen
Carly Cullen
2020-01-30T10:02:46+0000
Global Hobo was my third internship - the only one where I learned skills worth having! The experience I gained also landed me a journalism job. A team of sweet industry professionals, and an excuse to travel. 10/10 would recommend x
Bronni Bowen
Bronni Bowen
2020-01-29T06:54:01+0000
Ripper organisation and the type of set up that's perfect for independent explorers who like to learn whilst immersing themselves in the culture. I took on so much real-world, relevant stuff and the mentors were just the right amount of hands-on/chill. Would definitely recommend, especially for uni... students or crew on a gap year.read more
Zoë Victoria
Zoë Victoria
2020-01-29T04:18:09+0000
Spain '19 was the adventure of a lifetime! I learnt so much, made lifelong friends and had an absolute ball travelling around the country. Being a part of the global hobo workshop was one of the most empowering and inspiring experiences of my life and I'll be talking about it until I'm old and... grey! 💃read more
Sophie Nicolas
Sophie Nicolas
2020-01-28T10:01:55+0000
I was a part of the first group to do Global Hobo's Tokyo internship and I thank my lucky stars I was able to have this experience. Not only did I learn about real journalism, I was able to define my skill set as a writer, learn to work as a team, made friends for life and learned about myself as a... traveller and a human being. To this day, three years on, I still think about my time in Tokyo as the best month of my life. So if you're on the fence about applying - Just take the leap or you might miss out on a life changing experience!! ✈️read more
Morgan Steven
Morgan Steven
2020-01-28T07:21:42+0000
Such an Incredible experience learning and exploring with Global Hobo. The team of writers who mentor, teach, and show you the way are such an inspiration. I’d recommend this to anyone looking to travel write!
Claudia Besant
Claudia Besant
2020-01-06T22:58:25+0000
Had so much fun on the December Writing Workshop - met amazing people, learned Bahasa Indonesian with an incredible teacher, and gained so much confidence in my writing ability. An experience I will never ever forget.
Isaac Freeman
Isaac Freeman
2019-12-24T03:46:31+0000
I recently did the Nov/Dec 2019 Bali workshop and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. The classes where engaging, fun, and most importantly useful, our tutors where generous with both their time and knowledge. This course was also a fantastic opportunity to meet new people and make... great friends while navigating a foreign country. It was a unique experience and one that every aspiring writer or creative would absolutely love!read more
Siobhan Fowler
Siobhan Fowler
2019-12-24T00:47:20+0000
I just went on the November/December 2019 Bali workshop. It was the best month of my life. I met friends I will hopefully have forever and had so many fun experiences. I learnt loads about journalism and writing from great teachers. I also thoroughly enjoyed going to the Indonesian language... classes.Couldn’t recommend this program more!read more
Mackenzie Pringle
Mackenzie Pringle
2019-11-21T14:06:55+0000
Rest assured this isn't a scam! Gemma and her workshops are unforgettable. You can't get better than an informative course that gives you real world skills with some seriously talented professionals. I can't recommend it enough. One of the best experiences out there.
Alexis Kelly
Alexis Kelly
2019-11-16T16:25:33+0000
I attended Bali in June/July 2019 and it was incredible. I learned from knowledgable, approachable, and beautifully kind instructors and left with new friends, a desire to keep travelling, and an excitement to enter the world of freelance with practical knowledge.
Tamar Aizenberg
Tamar Aizenberg
2019-11-03T17:58:50+0000
One of the best experiences in my life. the workshop is amazing and has exactly what you need in it. Great teachers, important content and tools to aid your career later on and amazing people.
Morgan McLaughlin
Morgan McLaughlin
2019-11-01T01:54:20+0000
The Bali Global Hobo workshop was so much more than I could have ever hoped for. I met so many talented and beautiful women who I suspect will be my friends for years to come. The tutors were down-to-earth and inspiring and led us to achieve our Bali goals (no matter what they were). In conclusion:... 10/10 would bang the Bali Global Hobo workshop!read more
Errol Televantos
Errol Televantos
2019-10-30T07:17:50+0000
Such amazing workshops, i couldn't reccomend them any more highly. They are Incredibly informative and so down to earth. Such authentic and practical imformation that's actually useful in the real world. I met some incredible people and forged some amazing friendships. Such an inspiring and... enjoyable program - and the teachers/mentors are some of the loveliest people ever, which is a big plus in my books.read more
Maddie Vlismas
Maddie Vlismas
2019-10-30T00:58:11+0000
attended the Bali workshop with Global Hobo in Jan 2017 and it was such an amazing experience! got to hang and work with the most wonderful people including their awesome teachers
Thea Elder
Thea Elder
2019-10-30T00:48:36+0000
these workshops offer an incredibly pragmatic approach to living the freelance-writing lifestyle. heaps of fun and amazing teachers - - 10/10 would recommend x
Tara Riley
Tara Riley
2017-05-08T00:40:19+0000
Olivia Ramsay
Olivia Ramsay
2017-05-07T11:05:38+0000
Alannah Gilchrist
Alannah Gilchrist
2017-05-07T08:08:36+0000
Jennifer Rickward
Jennifer Rickward
2017-05-06T06:39:24+0000
Next Reviews

Submitted Reviews

alex

“Interning for Global Hobo is the opportunity of a lifetime. That is if you enjoy scooting around in the Bali sun, exploring hidden crevices of the world and waking up every morning with a group of like-minded travellers who will undoubtedly become your soul mates.

Each week is packed with useful writing workshops, covering a wide array of topics. From learning how companies like Global Hobo generate website traffic and revenue to intriguing lessons on creating a viral feature, this internship certainly left me with invaluable skills.

As I finish university and continue on to the professional world, I move forward with a clear understanding of how to create pieces and successfully pitch them to editors – a crucial skill for any aspiring writer.

What really puts this internship even further above the bar, however, is the attitude of the entire Global Hobo staff. Their passion and dedication for their writing is truly a lesson I couldn’t have learned anywhere else.”

Alex Kazerounian · Bali

zeke

“The Global Hobo program was so nice I could do it twice. Weekly classes and workshops were highly informative, teaching interns how to pitch ideas, construct angles, write diversely, create a publication and branch out to editors as freelance journalists. The Global Hobo tutors were experts at teaching us how to operate as writers in the real world, which universities often fail at.

Interns worked in teams and a unique creative force field was generated, allowing us to bounce ideas off each other, edit each other’s work and motivate creation. The small community of interns and tutors formed a little Utopia – everlasting friendships were built through travel and creativity. I’m eternally grateful for them.

I am now a freelance journalist jamming my articles into as many publications as I can get my hands on whilst continuing my studies in documentary making, digital design and creative writing. The Global Hobo internship is responsible for propelling my career.”

Ezekiel MacNevin · Bali

“Prior to going on the Global Hobo program, I thought I knew a thing or two about writing. With butterflies in my stomach I flew over to beautiful Canggu to meet a bunch of strangers that I was going to be living with for a month.

Over the four-week period I spent with Global Hobo, I learned things about my own writing as well as the writing industry in general that I fear I wouldn’t have learned without enduring numerous fuck-ups in the real world. Making friendships I know I will have for a life time, we created hangovers together night-in, night-out, and the classes always kept everyone engaged, filled with info and pointers you would be (and probably currently are) lost without.

After leaving the 27-odd people that I now consider my family I have noticed less of my emails get ignored, more ideas come to my head and I feel 10 times more comfortable, not only in my writing, but on a scooter as well.”

Jack Wills · Bali

gab

“One of the best months of my life I can say I was actually ‘learning’ while on holiday. As much as it’s based around travel writing, it’s way more about learning how to network and present yourself as a freelancer – which is where most creative industries are headed.

These guys are current, they’re young and they know how the landscape is changing for young millennials in the working environment, so they can actually give practical advice for young 20-something idiots fresh out of college on how to get a job and make money while bumming from home (sorry Mum).

I definitely recommend getting on board with Global Hobo even if you don’t study journalism (I studied fashion). It’s relevant to every working environment; learning how to adapt and work within new personalities, manoeuvring and directing conversation and how to actually prioritise and be efficient with your day. We were in Bali so of course, all we wanted to do was drink and surf, but we had to write pitch stories at the same time…

Gabby Neal · Bali

“After four weeks with the Global Hobo gang I felt more confident about my writing and more positive about my future job prospects than I felt throughout most of my journalism degree. I realised that I have the capacity to direct my own work and writing and now, thanks to the teachings of Global Hobo, I have the skills and knowledge to as well. I’ve learnt how to pitch effectively, write in a variety of formats, collaborate with others and even kickstart a blog or website.

Being able to meet, live and work with a worldly bunch of writers left me in awe of their creativity and forced me to work harder and challenge what I thought I knew about journalism, travel and myself.

I’m currently in the midst of trying my hand at more freelance writing, with much of my work ending back up on the Global Hobo page.

Do not hesitate to spend a month on the Global Hobo internship. Never has there been a more perfect balance of experiential learning, down-to-earth teaching, Bintangs and bike rides in the history of journalism and probably the world.”

Amy Fairall · Bali

billie

“My mum originally thought this was a scam, as it sounded too good to be true – it definitely wasn’t a scam, but certainly felt too good to be true when I was living in paradise.

I don’t throw around the phrase ‘best time of my life’ often, but this was honestly just that. Every day I was surrounded by like-minded people in a beautiful country, learning more valuable and worthwhile information than I ever did at uni.

It is hard to put into words how amazing it felt to be in such a supportive environment that pushed my writing to the next level, and now that I’ve been published, I feel like I’m on the right path towards my career.

The instructors are also some of the most intelligent, well-rounded and funny people you will ever meet, and not too bad looking either (I promise you I wasn’t forced to say that last part).”

Billie Schwab Dunn · Bali

“Bali wasn’t what I expected. I came here back in 2015 on holiday. I did touristy things and I stayed in touristy places. This was different. This time, I was here to live. And learn. And for four weeks, I got to live my dream.”

Ben Lawrence · Bali

“If you’re interested in writing, journalism or communications, I guarantee you’ll get something out of this internship. Before heading to Tokyo with Global Hobo, I’d already done one internship and had almost finished my degree. That said, while I was in Tokyo, I learned far more about actually making a career out of writing than I had throughout uni.

Everything I learned was really practical, relevant and came from a teacher that had a first-hand, current perspective on earning a living as a writer (#goals). They were genuinely keen to help me improve my writing and were always around if I needed advice or had questions.

The other interns were some of the most supportive people I’ve ever met, which made the whole experience so, so incredible. Thanks to them, my month in Tokyo was crazy, exciting and way more fun that I had imagined – and I learned heaps, of course!

Do not hesitate to spend a month on the Global Hobo internship. Never has there been a more perfect balance of experiential learning, down-to-earth teaching, Bintangs and bike rides in the history of journalism and probably the world.”

Amelia Edwards · Japan

“The Global Hobo Tokyo program was a great experience that I would definitely recommend to almost any writer at the beginning stages of their career. The staff were professional but not intimidating and Gemma did an amazing job of curating a group of participants who were very individual but simultaneously some of the most inclusive people I have ever met.

Coming from an editing background, the program allowed me to develop skills across writing styles in a supportive, collaborative and enjoyable environment. The group editing sessions are super valuable and expose you to a variety of methods for tackling conceptually difficult article topics.

The immersive style of the program also made it really easy to make friends and contacts in the industry.

Also, Tokyo is rad and you’ll have a blast bonding with everyone over shitty 2000s songs at karaoke.”

Bonnie Stevens · Japan

“When I applied for the Global Hobo workship, I was three years into uni and didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. My month in Japan re-motivated me, helped me to rediscover my passion for writing, and showed me that there are so many careers paths in journalism that they don’t teach you at uni.

Discovering the crazy, overwhelming Tokyo culture with such an inspiring, talented and diverse bunch of people was an amazing and eye-opening experience. One very important lesson I learned was that there is no better way to make friends than over hot okonomiyaki and a konbini bevvy.

I also learned valuable skills from all of the teachers, who are far more in touch with the modern media industry than many uni lecturers. Their main goal is to help you get published, and to start building your brand and portfolio. It’s a great opportunity to get a foot in the door of a highly competitive industry.

I left Tokyo with great memories, new friends, and valuable experience under my belt. All in all, I’d call that a pretty sweet deal.”

Stacey Whitlock · Japan

“Global Hobo’s Tokyo program is everything you could want out of an overseas experience, both professionally and personally.

The teaching staff were approachable wells of wisdom, so much so that you could get a dnm and pitching advice in one sitting. The teacher-student veil you get at uni is all but collapsed, which really creates a collaborative learning environment. Classes contained practical, useful skills by people that are actually out there in the industry making a name and living for themselves, so you know it’s legit.

I especially loved the immersive nature of the program. Between sleeping on tatami, taking rush hour trains and learning Japanese, the program really forces you to live like a local.

A city as huge and unique as Tokyo is a lot to take in, so it’s a good thing you’ll be with a group of diverse but equally like-minded people to lean on. It’s actually uncanny how well you will get to know and love a group of strangers when you live and work in their pockets for a month. I’m happy to report we still have group chats going strong. And having a network of talented writers to refer to isn’t too bad on the professional front either.

Plus you know, there’s the cheap 7/11 drinks, karaoke around every corner, and enough gyoza and ramen for 10 lifetimes.”

Kim Koelmeyer · Japan

Back to Workshops